WALK IN VICTORY


STANDING STRONG THROUGH THE STORM

WALK IN
VICTORY
===============
And we know that in all things God works for the
good of those who love him,
who have been called according to his purpose.
Romans 8:28

Our trust is not in a God who uses his power without a plan
or at His whim.
Rather our trust is in a loving, purposeful God who promises
that all thing
work together for good for those who love Him.

No one believes this any more than Kim Phuc. She is known as the picture girl
from
the Vietnam war. The Pulitzer Prize winning photo seen around the world
was
snapped on June 8, 1972 following a South Vietnamese napalm attack on
Trang
Bang village. Nine-year-old Kim is seen running down the road toward
the
camera, naked and screaming in pain.

Living in constant pain as a
result of the horrific injuries she suffered, Kim
recalls she was bitter and
filled with hatred asking the universal question,
“Why me? Why do I have to
suffer like this?”

As a teenager, she encountered a Vietnamese Bible in a
library. Impressed with
Jesus and His teaching, she became a believer in
1982. She comments that it
took years, but “God freed me from hatred and
enabled me to love and forgive
my enemies, to trust Him and to
obey.”

She still suffers daily from excruciating pain but she now finds
purpose in
that pain. “The pain reminds me daily to go back to the Lord in
prayer,” she
says. “Then he gives me peace, energy, strength and grace to
face each day…The
pain is for my spiritual protection and I thank God for
it.”

Kim Phuc says she wants to change the way people see her; no longer
the little
girl crying out of pain, but now a young woman crying out for
peace. She adds,
“Now He uses my picture and my everyday life to glorify Him.
Now I understand
the purpose of why I’m still here and why I suffer. It’s to
glorify the Lord.
It’s not about me. It’s about Him!”

God has a plan
and purpose for our life, and through our obedience to His
teaching, He is
going to work in us and through us that which will ultimately
bring glory to
God. With this kind of faith, we will see victory.

RESPONSE: Today I will
walk in victory because I will give every part of my
being to glorify
God

PRAYER: Lord, help me to experience the purpose and meaning You have
ordained
in my suffering for You.

This entry was posted in Devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

