Planted By Streams


Planted By Streams
Wendy Pope

“He is like a tree planted by streams of
water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither. Whatever
he does prospers.” Psalm 1:3 (NIV 1984)

After marrying the man of my
dreams, I thought my happily-ever-after had begun. And it did … for a while.
We had a cute Cape Cod on Logan Street, I taught fourth grade, and we enjoyed
sweet friends in our church. Life was not only good; it was great.

But
“great” quickly departed when changes came our way with a new job in a new city
and a new house filled with a new baby. My husband’s job meant he was gone … a
lot. Which meant I was alone … a lot.

The transition to so much time
alone was difficult, but it helped me see something was missing. At first I had
no idea what it was or where to find it; I just knew it wasn’t something I could
get in my home, child or husband.

It took a while, but eventually I
became keenly aware of what was missing: God wasn’t part of my
happily-ever-after. I had left Him out. At a young age I’d accepted Jesus as my
Savior, but I had never surrendered to Him or spent much time with Him praying
or reading the Bible.

A soul that is saved but not in relationship with
Christ is void of His fullness. I was living in the void.

God heard the
cries from my unfulfilled heart and led me to Scripture. On that day I opened my
Bible to Psalm 1 and found this fulfilling truth:

“… his delight is in
the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night. He is like a
tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose
leaf does not wither. Whatever he does prospers.” (vs. 2-3 NIV 1984)

God
tenderly let me see my tree (life) was planted in places far from the streams of
His living water. I had planted myself beside the streams of the world, seeking
its temporary joy and fulfillment. Planting myself there, away from Him left me
thirsty. The unfertile soil and lack of hydration caused me to
wither.

Meditating on His Word was the key to finding what I was missing.
It never occurred to me God’s instructions could be delightful, or that thinking
of them day and night was even possible. “How does one meditate on Your Word day
and night and still get things done Lord?” I asked.

In a faint whisper I
felt the Lord encourage me, “Start here.”

For the next 150 days I read a
chapter a day in the book of Psalms. Actually, I spent more than one day reading
Psalm 119. Have you seen Psalm 119? Its 176 verses were a bit intimidating for
this newbie in the Word!

Is your life planted close to God? Does your
heart have fertile soil for His Word to prosper? If you feel like me on that day
I opened my Bible—lonely, thirsty and withering away, today can the beginning of
your refreshment!

Dear Lord, I want to open my Bible and allow You to
plant the seeds of change in my heart. Following the ways of the world have made
me feel as if I am withering. Thank You that Your Word has the power to change
me. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Related Resources:
Do You Know
Him?

Would you like to bring the message of this devotion to the women of
your church? Click here to have Wendy Pope as your next retreat / key note
speaker.

Visit Wendy’s blog as she celebrates the release of her new
eBook Bible study, Trusting God for a Better Tomorrow. Enter to win one of four
copies and learn how you can be part of her new life-changing online Bible Study
starting in January.

This week Wendy is celebrating the release of
Trusting God for a Better Tomorrow, by giving away a free MP3 of her audio
teaching about King David, What to do in the W.A.I.T.

Reflect and
Respond:
How do you feel about reading God’s Word every day?

Make a
commitment to read one Psalm a day, allowing three days to complete Psalm
119.

Power Verses:
Psalm 119:15-16, “I meditate on your precepts and
consider your ways. I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word.”
(NIV 1984)

Psalm 119:105, “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for
my path.” (NIV 1984)

2 Timothy 3:16-17, “All Scripture is God-breathed
and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness,
so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.” (NIV
1984)

This entry was posted in Devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

