THE SWORD CANNOT SEPARATE US FROM THE LOVE OF CHRIST


STANDING STRONG THROUGH THE STORM

THE SWORD CANNOT SEPARATE US FROM THE LOVE OF CHRIST
====================================================
Who
shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall…sword…? Romans 8:35g

The
question asked is a personal one. Not “what” can separate us but “who”?
The
inference is our enemy, Satan, who tries every tactic he can garner to
make
us think we can be separated from Christ’s love. Today we look at his
tactic
of “sword” or violence.

Sister Pasqualita spoke at the “Mexico, I Love
You” Congress. She had suffered
severe ostracism in her small town in the
very southern part of Mexico because
she had become an evangelical. Other
Christians had already been forcibly
driven from the town.

One night a
group of her persecutors surrounded her grass-roofed home setting
it on fire.
As she opened the door, someone fired a gun at her. A co-worker
shares her
story in his own words:

“When she was sharing her testimony she was
crying. She said, ‘I thank the
Lord that only twenty-one ammunition bits
touched me.’ She had been shot all
over her body and even in the neck. She
was still able to run and fell into a
hole where her persecutors couldn’t see
her in the dark. She was losing blood
quickly but some other townsfolk who
appreciated her testimony somehow took
her out through the mob to another
nearby town’s clinic. She survived but
three other family members in the
house were murdered.

“She complained to the Lord saying, ‘Lord, why now
that I’ve given you my life
and my family am I suffering this way?’ The Lord
reminded her of a song that
she used to sing very often, ‘I have decided to
follow Jesus, no turning
back.’

“She continued, ‘Then I understood
that when I decided to follow Jesus, it was
in the midst of any situation,
any persecution. My life now belonged to Him. I
gained strength in that song.
I am preaching again and I am encouraging the
rest of the believers that when
we decide to follow Jesus there is no turning
back.’”

Today Pasqualita
continues to be a strong Christian leader and teacher in her
community and
she still loves to sing, “I have decided to follow Jesus, no
turning
back.”

RESPONSE: I will live this day in the awareness that physical
weapons and
violence can never separate me from Christ’s love.

PRAYER:
Lord, help me to react to any threats of intimidating weapons with
complete
confidence in Your love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

