He Cares About You


Encouragement for Today

May 29, 2013

He Cares About You
Renee
Swope

“Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.” 1
Peter 5:7 (NLT)

When life gets overwhelming, do you ever wonder if God
notices all you have going on? Does He see how hard you’re working and trying to
take care of everyone and everything? Staying up late to pay the bills, and
feeling stretched between relationships at home and in church while caring for
aging parents, commuting to work and carpooling kids?

Several years ago,
I came to a point where it felt like I was suffocating under the weight of my
many responsibilities. Slowly, worry started to weave its way into my thoughts,
making me wonder how I was going to do it all.

I was exhausted and ready
to resign from just about everything. I didn’t have enough energy to handle it
all. My faith was drained too, which led me to a place of self-doubt. I
questioned my ability to manage my life and doubted my ability to hear God
clearly or fulfill all the roles I assumed He wanted me to do.

And all
those worries made me weary, and they also made me wonder. I wondered if God
noticed and cared about the burdens I carried. I also questioned why He wasn’t
doing something to make life easier. After all, my days were consumed with doing
things for Him and others.

One day I was reading my Bible and noticed how
Martha’s worries were making her wonder if Jesus cared about her. Martha’s
sister Mary had left her in the kitchen to do all the work while Mary sat in
another room listening to Jesus. The Bible tells us, “She came to him and asked,
‘Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell
her to help me!'” (Luke 10:40b NIV)

Listen to how Jesus responded:
“‘Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many
things, but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is
better, and it will not be taken away from her'” (v. 41-42 NIV).

In that
moment, Jesus showed Martha just how much He cared. Not just about how hard she
was working, but about the rest He knew she needed. Instead of giving her what
she demanded, Jesus showed Martha what she needed and the choice she could make
to receive it.

Jesus helped Martha see that Mary hadn’t abandoned her to
do the work by herself. Instead, Mary chose to walk away from distractions and
preparations so she could take hold of something that couldn’t be taken away
from her.

It was the one thing that would last even after Jesus was gone:
time with Him resting in His presence, soaking in His perspective, and listening
to His promises.

1 Peter 5:7 says to “Give all your worries and cares to
God, for he cares about you.”

As I read this verse and Martha’s story, I
saw the difference between what God offers and what I had been doing. I was
carrying the heavy weight of my concerns but Jesus had invited me to come to Him
and cast my cares upon Him, so that He could care for me.

When I do all
the talking and instructing, God doesn’t have a chance. Instead of telling Him
what I needed, He showed me how to say, “Lord, this is what’s on my mind. This
is what I’m worried about.” And then stop and ask, “But Lord, what is going on
in my heart? What are Your thoughts about this situation? What do I need and
what should I do?”

As I’m learning to give my concerns to God, my heart
is growing more confident in knowing just how much He cares about me. With this
new approach, my burdens are lighter and my heart is too.

Jesus, help me
seek You as much as I serve You and others. I want to balance my life and my
workload with You, knowing with confidence that You care about me and are good
at taking care of me! In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

