BOLD IN THE SPIRIT


STANDING STRONG THROUGH THE STORM

BOLD IN THE SPIRIT
==================
My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of
the LORD; my heart and my flesh
cry out for the living God. Psalm
84:2

A few months ago a North Korean man successfully waded across the
Tumen River
into China looking for food, money and work in order to return
later to his
home country with help for his family. He was befriended by
Korean-Chinese
Christians (not an uncommon scenario among refugees there). As
he sat in
Christian meetings, an older woman said to him, “Receive the Holy
Spirit or
you can’t go back into North Korea; it’s too
dangerous!”

After many discussions with believers, he confessed Jesus as
Lord of his life
and received the Holy Spirit. He packed Bibles along with
his food cargo and
crossed the river back to North Korea. Though it was a
full moon night, there
were no guards since everyone was watching North Korea
play football (soccer)
against Brazil in the World Cup games in South
Africa.

As soon as he arrived home, he began talking about his new
relationship with
God. His family became irate. The young man’s uncle tried
to beat this “new
idea” of God and Jesus out of him shouting, “How can you
believe these
things?”

The young man replied, “How can you not?
Without God how do the sun and moon
rotate?” The Holy Spirit gave words to
the surprised young man. Soon the
beating was forgotten and the uncle was
listening intently. The whole family
of this young man ultimately received
Jesus as Saviour and Lord.

On returning to China for further training, he
commented that unless people
are filled with the Holy Spirit they should not
go back to North Korea because
the spiritual warfare is worse than
ever.

He concluded, “Only with the Holy Spirit’s help can we be bold.
Pray for me
that when I am caught I may be bold in my
faith.”

RESPONSE: Today I will rely on the Holy Spirit to make me bold in
my witness.

PRAYER: Lord, my soul, my heart, my flesh, cry out to You for
the filling and
power of Your Holy Spirit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

