STANDING STRONG THROUGH THE STORM


STANDING STRONG THROUGH THE STORM

STORMS REVEAL NEW THINGS ABOUT
JESUS
====================================
He [Jesus] said to his
disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no
faith?” They were
terrified and asked each other, “Who is this? Even the wind
and the waves
obey him!” Mark 4:40-41

Thankfully storms ultimately do come to an end!
We learn this as another
insight from this passage of scripture. And the
storms often reveal something
new about Jesus. Here the disciples express
their amazement that He even
controls the winds and the waves. They had
already spent considerable time
with Jesus yet this experience actually
terrified them. They had known Jesus
as fully human to this point in their
relationship. And now they are
confronted with His being also fully
divine—something that really terrified
them.

There is always something
more to learn about Jesus and sometimes this happens
in the storms of life.
Twenty-three-year-old Maria fled with her parents from
Bagdad, Iraq to the
Kurdish north of the country because they had been
threatened as Christians
living in the capital.

“I really struggled the first year,” she says.
“But I knew I had to go on. I
could not crawl up and mourn the things I had
lost…Because I went to college
here it was pretty easy to find a job. And
what I really like is that I am
safe here.”

Maria had to leave
everything behind but did not give up. She concludes,
“Start with something
small and you will slowly move on.”

We received a report of a Christian
arrested for selling Bibles in front of a
university in another middle east
Islamic country’s capital. He was repeatedly
interrogated during six weeks of
imprisonment. In a final effort to intimidate
him, his captors brought his
wife to the prison and threatened to execute him
unless he renounced his
Christian faith.

“If I have to choose between my wife and children or
Jesus Christ, then I
choose Jesus,” he reportedly told his captors. When this
and other attempts
failed to coerce him to renounce his faith, he was finally
released from
prison. He was forced to sign a letter agreeing not to sell
Christian
literature, although he continued to actively evangelize in parks
and other
open-air areas.

“I don’t know why, but I cried the whole
day,” he said upon release, adding
that he wished he could have been martyred
for his faith. “I felt very close
to heaven in prison. I was happy that the
Lord had heard my prayers for my
love to be a sacrifice in that small prison
cell. But it seems that the Lord
wished me to be alive and active in His work
again.”

RESPONSE: Today I will be thankful that the storms in my life
will come to an
end. I will deliberately seek to discover something new about
Jesus and what
He wants me to be for Him.

PRAYER: Pray that you—and
believers everywhere—will have spiritual eyes and
ears to see, hear and learn
new lessons from Jesus in the storms of life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

